The first PhD colloquium was organized in 2006 in Saarbruecken. Since then, colloquiums took place in various locations in Germany, Austria, Switzerland and Luxembourg. The goal of the colloquium is to foster understanding and collaboration between Ph.D students from various disciplines working on e-voting. To this end, the program allows plenty of space for discussion and initiating collaboration based on presentations by attendees. What makes this colloquium special, is that it is truly interdisciplinary, where PhD students from legal backgrounds are joined by PhD students with computer science and cryptography backgrounds and by social scientists.

The target audience is:

  • PhD students in e-voting (computer scientists, mathematicians, logicians, legal experts, public administration, political science, social scientists, cryptographers, etc.);
  • PhD students in related areas, where privacy, authentication, integrity and trust play a role, and for whom e-voting constitutes and interesting application domain;
  • Master students in e-voting and related areas are welcome to participate, too.

Steering Committee

Prof. Dr. Dr. Robert Krimmer

Tallinn University of Technology, Ragnar Nurkse School of Innovation and Governance (Estonia)

Prof. Dr. Melanie Volkamer

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, KASTEL security center

Mailing List

There is also a mailing list for active PhDs. If you want to be included, use the following link to subscribe:

Next Colloquium

Go to

Previous Colloquiums

October 2020 - online (Ardita Driza Maurer, Iuliia Krivonosova)
October 2019 - Bregenz, Austria (Reto Koenig, Ardita Driza-Maurer)
April 2019 - Luxembourg (Marie-Laure Zollinger, Itsaka Rakotonirina)
October 2018 - Bregenz, Austria (Reto Koenig, Tomasz Truderung)
April 2018 - Karlsruhe, Germany (Oksana Kulyk, Melanie Volkamer, Bernhard Beckert, Jörn Müller-Quade)
October 2017 - Bregenz, Austria (Oksana Kulyk, Leontine Weesing-Loeber)
May 2017 - Wroclaw, Poland (Filip Zagorski)
October 2016 - Bregenz, Austria (Jordi Barrat)
April 2016 - Tarragona, Spain (Carlos Vegas)
October 2015 - Copenhagen, Denmark (Olivier Belanger)
March 2015 - Tallinn, Estonia (Robert Krimmer)
October 2014 - Bregenz, Austria (Robert Krimmer)
November 2013 - Fribourg, Switzerland (Reto Koenig)
October 2012 - Luxembourg (Hugo Jonker)
April 2011 - Krems, Austria (Melanie Volkamer)
September 2010 - Bern, Switzerland (Oliver Spycher)
April 2010 - Kassel, Germany (Philipp Richter)
Fall 2009 - Luebeck, Germany organized by University of Hamburg (Christian Paulsen)
April 2009 - Darmstadt, Germany (Lucie Langer, Axel Schmidt)
September 2008 - Munich, Germany (Joerg Helbach)
April 2008 - Passau, Germany (Melanie Volkamer)
October 2007 - Koblenz, Germany (Anastasia Meletiadou)
March 2007 - Vienna, Austria (Robert Krimmer)
November 2006 - Saarbruecken, Germany (Melanie Volkamer)

Defended Theses

Joern Schweisgut (Universitaet Giessen, 2007): Elektronische Wahlen unter dem Einsatz kryptografischer Observer
Roberto Samarone dos Santos Araujo (TU Darmstadt, 2008): On Remote and Voter-Verifiable Voting
Melanie Volkamer (Universitaet Koblenz, 2008): Evaluation of Electronic Voting
Hugo Jongker (University of Luxembourg, 2009): Security Matters: Privacy in Voting and Fairness in Digital Exchange
Anastasia (Nancy) Meletiadou (University of Koblenz, 2010): Moderne Instant-Messaging-Systeme als Plattform fuer sicherheitskritische kollaborative Anwendungen
Joerg Helbach (Ruhr-Univeristaet Bochum, 2010): Eingrenzung des Secure Platform-Problems bei Internetwahlsystemen mit Hilfe von Code Voting
Barbara Lucie Langer (TU Darmstadt, 2010): Privacy and Verifiability in Electronic Voting
Christian Paulsen (Universitaet Hamburg, 2011): Sicherheit von Internetwahlen
Katarzyna Mlynczak-Sachs (Wroclaw University, 2011): Internet Voting and Legalization of Democratic Procedures
Axel Schmidt (TU Darmstadt, 2012): Enabling Secure Online Elections with the Voting Service Provider
Robert Krimmer (Tallinn University of Technology, 2012): The Evolution of E-voting: Why Voting Technology is Used and How it Affects Democracy
Philipp Richter (Universitaet Kassel, 2012): Wahlen im Internet rechtsgemaess gestalten
Mecinas Montiel, Juan Manuel (Universidad Complutense de Madrid, 2014): Estudio constitucional del voto por internet
Oliver Spycher (Universitaet Fribourg, 2015): Trustworthy Internet Voting - Defeating Powerful Coercers and Vote-Buyers
Jurlind Budurushi (Technische Universitaet Darmstadt, 2016): Usable Security Evaluation of EasyVote in the Context of Complex Elections
Stephan Neumann (Technische Universitaet Darmstadt, 2016): Evaluation and Improvement of Internet Voting Schemes Based on Legally-Founded Security Requirements
Sandra Guasch (Technical University of Catalonia, Barcelona, 2016): Individual Verifiability in Electronic Voting
Oksana Kulyk (Technische Universitaet Darmstadt, 2017): Extending the Helios Internet Voting Scheme Towards New Election Settings
David Y. Marcos del Blanco (IE University Madrid, 2018): Cybersecurity applied to e-democracy: Cryptographic analysis and development of a Practical Evaluation Methodology for i-voting systems and its application to the most relevant solutions
Kellie Ottoboni (University of California Berkeley, 2019): Classical Nonparametric Hypothesis Tests with Applications in Social Good